RSS

First Response: DOA

29 May

So, I had absolutely no expectations that my first query response would be the one that sold the book. I might have hoped for a request for more chapters, but I’m a realist. If anything, I think this is the nicest and most convincingly non-form letter response that I’ve seen. Not that this means it wasn’t a form letter response. It just reads rather nicely so I’m choosing to believe it wasn’t.

When I was sending out queries for my fantasy manuscript, I received a similar response in that the story just didn’t fit the agent’s wishlist. This particular agent does list both YA and Steampunk as areas of interest, but may not have an interest in YA Steampunk. Or may prefer Offworld Steampunk, or older age-group YA, or non-American Steampunk. The genre lends itself to a lot of different areas, so who knows. Not every fish likes the same sort of worm, you know?

Of course, there is always the chance that this response is a blow off and that the content of the sample is what failed to interest the agent. If you want to keep your sanity, however, it is best to not read more into the response than is truly there. Agents can (and should) be brutally honest about quality. There is no point in sparing my feelings if the writing is bad, so I can only assume that they would say exactly that.

Anyway, I have a list with another agent at the top, so I will be sending out another query today – keeping my total to three in the wind at a time.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on May 29, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “First Response: DOA

  1. kathleenbradean

    May 29, 2012 at 10:48 AM

    Whoo-hoo! Send out those queries!
    I put two in the snail mail today and sent out two electronic ones this weekend. We can compare rejections as they come back!

     
    • tobiaswrites

      May 29, 2012 at 10:50 AM

      I’m saving the snail mail queries until I’ve exhausted all of the electronic submission options. I’m not even sure if I know how to use a stamp anymore.

       
      • kathleenbradean

        May 29, 2012 at 11:11 AM

        You just put your lips together and… hmmm. That doesn’t work. I use the self-sticky ones.

         

Leave a Reply

 
