RSS

Third Response: A Nibble

01 Jun

So, my third query return today was from the most recent I sent. That means that two of the original three are still out in limbo awaiting a response. Even so, this little nibble is step one! Certainly there is no guarantee that this particular agent will take on the manuscript, but she is a lot closer to it since she’ll be reading the whole thing.

After I gave myself a little pat on the back and sent the entire MS on, I received a reply that was pretty much as I imagined it would be: “Thanks. My response time is woeful right now (about two months) so I appreciate your patience.” Chances are that the agent has teetering stacks of manuscripts waiting a good thorough read. Last in gets shuffled to the bottom, so I’m looking at a good long wait without word. Or, possibly, this agent shares a single eye with two other agents and they have a tendency to fight over who gets it for reading time.

Should another agent contact me to look at the manuscript, I will give myself the same gentle back pat and add another chunk of waiting time to my calendar. The only possible problem arises if two or more agents, after having read the whole MS, decide they would like to represent me. This is a problem I would take on with as much glee as I could without looking like an absolute ass. For now, I’ll keep on as I have been and send another query in place of this response so that I’ll maintain three active queries.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on June 1, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “Third Response: A Nibble

  1. chucksmead

    June 2, 2012 at 9:59 PM

    This is really wonderful Toby. I really hope that someone picks it up soon.

     
    • tobiaswrites

      June 3, 2012 at 1:00 PM

      Thanks, Chuck! My bank account has more hope than money, so I’m keeping my fingers crossed.

       
      • chucksmead

        June 3, 2012 at 10:24 PM

        I quite understand. Be as patient as you can. 🙂

         

Leave a Reply

 
